## **UNOFFICIAL MINUTES**

## BENNETT COMMUNITY SCHOOL PROCEEDINGS OF REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING/ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING DECEMBER 13, 2021

The Bennett Board of Education met for its regular monthly meeting and organizational meeting on Monday, December 13, 2021 in the staff work room of the Bennett Community School, Bennett, IA. President Danielle Pratt called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM. Directors Danielle Pratt, Greg Reynolds, Chad Petersen, and Kaitlin Rasdon answered roll call and a quorum was declared. Director Lisa Syring was absent. Also present were Superintendent Lonnie Luepker, Principal Jeremiah Costello, Board Secretary Amanda Skriloff, Spencer Hicks and Denise McGhee.

Director Petersen moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to approve the agenda. Motion carried 4/0.

Director Petersen moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to approve the minutes from November 8th. Motion carried 4/0.

The board secretary read the official report of the votes of the recent school board election. For the office of Bennett School Board Director for a term of 4 years: Chris Eicher Sr. received forty-three (43) votes, Spencer L. Hicks received fifty-eight (58) votes, Gregory Reynolds received eighty-two (82) votes, Denise McGhee received fifty-one (51) votes and Teresa Bjurstrom received thirty-six (36) votes. Spencer L. Hicks, Gregory Reynolds, and Denise McGhee were elected.

Mr. Costello presented a plaque to Chad Petersen and thanked him for his additional two years of service to the Bennett School District as a board member.

Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Director Reynolds to adjourn the regular meeting at 5:36 PM. Motion carried 4/0.

The organizational meeting was called to order 5:36 PM. The board secretary administered the oath of office to Gregory Reynolds, Spencer Hicks and Denise McGhee. Directors Danielle Pratt, Greg Reynolds, Kaitlin Rasdon, Spencer Hicks, and Denise McGhee answered roll call and a quorum was declared. Also present were Superintendent Lonnie Luepker, Principal Jeremiah Costello, and Board Secretary Amanda Skriloff.

The board voted for president. There were five votes for Danielle Pratt. Danielle Pratt was declared president for the 2021-2022 school year.

The board voted for vice-president. There were five votes for Greg Reynolds. Greg Reynolds was declared vice-president for the 2021-2022 school year.

Director Pratt moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to appoint Amanda Skriloff as the board secretary and district treasurer. Motion carried 5/0.

Staff/Student Forum: None

**Public Forum**: Kaitlin Rasdon reported, on behalf of the PILOTS, that their craft fundraiser event was a huge success and this Wednesday they will be hosting Santa's workshop at the school.

**Principal's Report:** Mr. Costello reported their will be two new teachers starting after break; our shared counselor with Cal-Wheat CSD is working well for our students and staff; the fifth and sixth grade classes will take a field trip to Cal-Wheat to listen to a guest speaker; end of first trimester report cards went out; our Veteran's Day service was a huge success and a lot of positive comments were made; many activities are going on between now and winter break, tonight's concert being one of them; January 3<sup>rd</sup> in-service will consist of CPI training; January 20<sup>th</sup> will be parent/teacher conferences; thanks to the board for approving the mental health day for our staff, they are very appreciative.

## General Business of the Board:

9a: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to approve claims totaling \$164,856.96 and November financials. Motion carried 5/0.

9b: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Hicks to approve Liberty Trust and Savings Bank and ISJIT as the depositories. Motion carried 5/0.

9c: There was no affidavit of depository bank to approve.

9d: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to approve the open enrollment request of Kyle and Elizabeth Voss for their children Landan, Wyatt and Alexandria Voss to open enroll from North Cedar to Bennett. Motion carried 5/0.

9e: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to approve Kaitlynn Capper's contract for special education teacher. Motion carried 5/0.

9f: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to table the vote on approval of membership in RSAI until more information could be provided. Motion carried 5/0.

9g: Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Director Hicks to approve the Equity Report/Affirmation Action Plan 2021-2022. Motion carried 5/0.

9h: Brief discussion was held on COVID positivity notifications, no action was taken.

9i: Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Direction Reynolds to approve the changes to the 2021-2022 School District Calendar. Motion carried 5/0.

9j: Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Direction Reynolds to approve the membership in the MBEA New Teacher Consortium. Motion carried 5/0.

9k: Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Direction Rasdon to approve the Twin States/F&B agreement. Motion carried 5/0.

9l: Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Direction Hicks to approve the SSA amount of \$21,144. Motion carried 5/0.

Director Rasdon moved, seconded by Director McGhee to approve tabling the remainder of the agenda until January's meeting. Motion carried 5/0.

**Adjournment:** Director Reynolds moved, seconded by Director Rasdon to adjourn the meeting at 6:28 PM. Motion carried 5/0.